General Synod 2007

JUNE 19 – 25, 2007

TUESDAY, JUNE 19, 2007

Opening Service

Following a First Nations’ Greeting and Smudging Ceremony on the west bank of the Red River, the Thirty-Eighth Session of the General Synod of the Anglican Church of Canada convened in The Cathedral of St. John, Winnipeg, Manitoba, at 7:30 p.m. On behalf of the Credentials Committee, Chancellor Ronald Stevenson reported that a sufficient number of each Order was present to constitute the Synod: Order of Bishops – 40, Order of Clergy – 110, Order of Laity – 135. The President of the Synod, Archbishop Andrew Hutchison, Primate, declared that the Thirty-Eighth Session of the General Synod was duly constituted.

Act 1

Greetings were received from:

The Honourable John Harvard, Lieutenant Governor of Manitoba
Councillor Brenda Leipsic, Deputy Mayor of the City of Winnipeg
Mr. Douglas Martindale, MLA, Premier’s Office

Presidential Address

Archbishop Hutchison delivered the address and presided at the Celebration of the Holy Eucharist. (See Appendix A)

A reception followed at the Holy Trinity Ukrainian Orthodox Cathedral, hosted by the Diocese of Rupert’s Land.


The Anglican Church of Canada
80 Hayden Street
Toronto, Ontario M4Y 3G2
Main switchboard: 416-924-9192