ANGLICAN CHURCH OF CANADA FACTS

Anglican Church of Canada (abbreviated ACC)

NATIONAL OFFICE

80 Hayden Street, Toronto, ON M4Y 3G2

Telephone: 416-924-9192 Voice Mail: 416-924-9199

Fax: 416-968-7983

Web site: www.anglican.ca

ORGANIZED

General Synod has been self governing since 1893.

OFFICERS 2007-2010

The Primate The Most Rev. Fred J. Hiltz

The Prolocutor Canon Robert Falby
The Deputy Prolocutor The Ven. Harry Huskins

The Chancellor The Hon. Ronald C. Stevenson
The Vice-Chancellor Mr. Justice Brian Burrows
The General Secretary The Ven. Dr. Michael Pollesel

Acting General Secretary,

January-June 2010 Mr. Vianney (Sam) Carriere

The Treasurer Michèle George

Officers-at-large The Ven. Larry Beardy
Ms. Lela Zimmer

STRUCTURE

Parish, diocese, ecclesiastical province and General Synod are the four main levels of organizational structure within the Anglican Church of Canada.

The local parish is the primary centre of worship and mission in the church. Each parish is within one of 30 dioceses, and functions under the jurisdiction of the diocesan bishop.

Each diocese is within one of four regional groupings known as an ecclesiastical province. One bishop, elected by each Provincial Synod holds the office of Metropolitan and the title of Archbishop.

Collectively, the dioceses created a national body, the General Synod, to act on their behalf in specified areas. Representatives of the dioceses come together every three years in a meeting of the General Synod. Between these meetings, an executive committee, called the Council of General Synod, implements the General Synod's strategic plan. The Primate, who is also an archbishop, is the chief pastor of the Anglican Church of Canada and President of the General Synod

MEMBERSHIP (2001 FIGURES)

2,884 congregations in 1,792 parishes Total membership on parish rolls 641,845

BISHOPS

PRIMATE OF THE ANGLICAN CHURCH OF CANADA

The Most Rev. Fred J. Hiltz

NATIONAL INDIGENOUS ANGLICAN BISHOP

The Rt. Rev. Mark L. MacDonald

BISHOP ORDINARY TO THE CANADIAN FORCES

The Rt. Rev. Peter R. Coffin

ECCLESIASTICAL PROVINCE OF CANADA

The Most Rev. Claude W. Miller, Metropolitan

CENTRAL NEWFOUNDLAND (GANDER, NL)

Diocesan Bishop

Rt. Rev. F. David Torraville

EASTERN NFLD & LABRADOR (ST. JOHN'S, NL)

Diocesan Bishop

Rt. Rev. Cyrus Pitman

FREDERICTON (FREDERICTON, NB)

Diocesan Bishop Most Rev. Claude W. Miller

MONTREAL (MONTREAL, QC)

Diocesan Bishop

Rt. Rev. Barry B. Clarke

NOVA SCOTIA & PRINCE EDWARD ISLAND (HALIFAX)

Diocesan Bishop

Rt. Rev. Susan E. Moxley Suffragan Bishop

Rt. Rev. Ronald W.Cutler

QUEBEC (QUEBEC CITY, QC)

Diocesan Bishop

Rt. Rev. Dennis Drainville

ECCLESIASTICAL PROVINCE OF ONTARIO

The Most Rev. Colin R. Johnson, Metropolitan

ALGOMA (SAULT ST. MARIE, ON)

Diocesan Bishop

Rt. Rev. Dr. Stephen Andrews

Huron (London, ON)

Diocesan Bishop

Rt. Rev. Robert F. Bennett

Suffragan Bishop

Rt. Rev. Terrance A. Dance, Bishop of Norfolk

MOOSONEE (SCHUMACHER, ON)

Diocesan Bishop-elect to be consecrated July 6, 2010

The Rev. Thomas Corston,

NIAGARA (HAMILTON, ON)

Diocesan Bishop

Rt. Rev. Michael A. Bird

ONTARIO (KINGSTON, ON)

Diocesan Bishop

Rt. Rev. George L.R. Bruce

OTTAWA (OTTAWA, ON)

Diocesan Bishop

Rt. Rev. John H. Chapman

TORONTO (TORONTO, ON)

Diocesan Bishop

Most Rev. Colin R. Johnson

Suffragan Bishops

Rt. Rev. Linda C. Nicholls -Trent-Durham Rt. Rev. M. Philip Poole - York-Credit Valley

Rt. Rev. Patrick T. Yu - York-Scarborough

Rt. Rev. M. George Elliott - York-Simcoe



BISHOPS

ECCLESIASTICAL PROVINCE OF RUPERT'S LAND

The Most Rev. David N. Ashdown, Metropolitan

ARCTIC (YELLOWKNIFE, NT)

Diocesan Bishop

Rt. Rev. Andrew P. Atagotaaluk Suffragan Bishops

Rt. Rev. Benjamin T. Arreak (Eastern Arctic) Rt. Rev. Larry D. Robertson (Western Arctic)

ATHABASCA (PEACE RIVER, AB)

Diocesan Bishop

Rt. Rev. Fraser Lawton

BRANDON (BRANDON, MB)

Diocesan Bishop

Rt. Rev. James D. Njegovan

CALGARY (CALGARY, AB)

Diocesan Bishop

Rt. Rev. Derek B.E. Hoskin

EDMONTON (EDMONTON, AB)

Diocesan Bishop

Rt. Rev. Jane Alexander

KEEWATIN (KEEWATIN, ON)

Diocesan Bishop

Most Rev. David N. Ashdown Area Bishop

Rt. Rev. Lydia Mamakwa

with responsibility for the area mission of

Northern Ontario

Qu'Appelle (REGINA, SK)

Diocesan Bishop

Rt. Rev. Gregory K. Kerr-Wilson

RUPERT'S LAND (WINNIPEG, MB)

Diocesan Bishop

Rt. Rev. Donald D. Phillips

SASKATCHEWAN (PRINCE ALBERT, SK)

Diocesan Bishop

Rt. Rev. Michael W. Hawkins

SASKATOON (SASKATOON, SK)

Diocesan Bishop

Rt. Rev. David M. Irving

THE ECCLESIASTICAL PROVINCE OF BRITISH COLUMBIA AND YUKON

The Most Rev. John E. Privett, Metropolitan

ANGLICAN PARISHES OF THE CENTRAL INTERIOR (KAMLOOPS, BC)

Diocesan Bishop

Barbara J. Andrews

BRITISH COLUMBIA (VICTORIA, BC)

Diocesan Bishop

Rt. Rev. James A.J. Cowan

CALEDONIA (PRINCE RUPERT, BC)

Diocesan Bishop

Rt. Rev. William J. Anderson

KOOTENAY (KELOWNA, BC)

Diocesan Bishop

Most Rev. John E. Privett

NEW WESTMINSTER (VANCOUVER, BC)

Diocesan Bishop

Rt. Rev. Michael C. Ingham

YUKON (WHITEHORSE, NT)

Diocesan Bishop (retires August 31, 2010)

Rt. Rev. Terrance O. Buckle

Diocesan Bishop-elect to be installed September 18, 2010

Rt. Rev. Larry D. Robertson

